K-2

I used to be so loyal when I was younger

Before I learned litigation, justification

Ways to to out-logic emotion as chemical reactions

Variables, products of circumstances.

There will be others, it’ll feel the same

“The one” is only ‘the one” the stuck around

Or “the one” you haven’t replaced yet.

…With a new smile, new distraction

A new body beneath you.

I used to let my heart love fully

Devotedly, hopelessly

I handed it over willingly,

Without hesitation

Into their hands.

I let it be ripped from end to end.

I told them, “This is yours”

And let the new owner care

Without intervention

But even animals

Are protected from neglection.

I used to dream limitlessly

of the future. Of “us” together

Whomever was the flavor

Or new trending lover.

Playing on an endless loop in my head

My pulse keeping time.

– I took my heart out of storage today.

Blew off the collected dust and criticism.

It had atrophied, calcified

The color faded, optimism dried

There were several pieces missing,

Some hung by merely a string.

It was covered in graffiti.

Names of various unknown claiming territory.

Raised scars, discolored and tender.

It was damaged, lost worth

Outdated, undesired

Beyond repair.

-He said, “Give that to me”

And carried the heart carefully

Gently, both hands cradling

The way one tends to a small bird with broken wings.

I can’t remember how to fly…

I told him he didn’t want it

That he’d hardly known me a week-

 

…To be continued….

 

Leave a Reply

